Historical Commission

historical museum zoomed in light pole bannerThe Historical Commission was established in June 1976 by Town Council Resolution #1657

Charge: The Commission is charged with researching aspects of San Anselmo history, interviewing residents and recording their oral histories, and collecting memorabilia for permanent and temporary displays for the San Anselmo Historical Museum. 

Purpose: The commission aims to preserve the rich history of San Anselmo and make its historical heritage known to present-day residents.

Goals and Objectives: The goal of the Commission is to prevent the loss of historical knowledge, aspects, and relics related to the history of San Anselmo. The objectives include identification, collection, and research of historical data to maintain the rich history of San Anselmo. 

Organization: The Commission consists of eleven members appointed by Town Council to serve a four-year term, plus up to two Youth Commissioners appointed by the Commission to serve a one year term.


  • Third Wednesday of each month 
  • 7:00 pm @ Historical Museum
    First floor of the Library
    110 Tunstead Ave
    San Anselmo, CA 94960

Member Roster

Meeting Information

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 


  • Resolution #1657: Establishing a Historical Commission
  • Resolution #1675: AMending Resolution No. 1657 Regarding the Establishment of a Historical Commission
  • Resolution #3927: Restating the Framework for the Historical Commission and Adjusting the Size to Eleven Members